frances in the city


let’s hear a round of applause for mega bus
September 29, 2008, 4:46 pm
Filed under: Family

One of Chicago’s GIANT pulls was its proximity to the fair state of Wisconsin. I’ve spent my entire life 12 hours away from a large chunk of family, and I’m so thankful to now live a two to three hour bus ride away. This past weekend was Dousman visit numero uno. It was wonderful to get out of the city and see a small selection of my father’s family. 

I took the Mega Bus from Union Station (a 1.1 mile walk from my apartment) to the Amtrak Station in downtown Milwaukee. The traffic on the way up was rough because of the Brewers-Cub game that night, but for the price, I can’t complain. My cousin Nathan drove us to a nice little cookout where we socialized with cousin Brian and his family who came to town for a wedding. Benjamin has grown (possibly?) cuter and his baby sister Emily smiles a lot. From there we went to Grandma and Grandpa’s house where I stayed for the rest of the weekend.

Highlights include driving Nathan’s 6-speed BMW to LeDuc’s for frozen custard (flavor of the day: Mississippi Mudpie. Kahlua and coffee flavored custard with brownie pieces and chocolate sauce. So delicious), enjoying the beautiful weather with Grandma in the garden, convincing baby Emily to fall asleep in my arms, and eating three square meals in a row. I really think everyone should have access to Grandparent MacLeod-hosted weekend refreshers. 

I rode the bus back without incident and now I’m up to my ears in more Art History homework than I bargained for. 

I’d also like to apologize for no pictures. I had every intention…just no follow-through. And no good excuse. Brian took pictures. Hound him.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Brian! We need more pictures!

Comment by Dad

Ben and Emily are even better in real life. You didn’t eat all the Mississippi Mud Pie. Now Grandpa and I have to do it. (tough!)

Comment by Grandma




Leave a Reply

