frances in the city


Apartment Virtual Tour
October 4, 2008, 8:02 pm
Filed under: Chicago!

I’ve been living in apartment 1914 for something like 6 weeks now. I considered taking and posting pictures earlier, but it didn’t seem quite right to show you something I hadn’t really lived in. Since my roommate’s out of town and we’re more or less settled, I went on a cleaning binge (scoured the sinks Mom!!) and took some pictures. So really what you’ll see isn’t what it usually looks like…I don’t make my bed very frequently and our coffee table is usually COVERED in homework, food, projects, or a nice combination of the three. I just really didn’t want to show you our mess. You can click on the pictures to see them big.

Ta da! This is what we see when we walk in. On the right begins our ridiculous collection of closets. We also have a very classy broken mirror. We're learning to use more mounting tape and I've still had decent luck.

Ta da! This is what we see when we walk in. On the right begins our ridiculous collection of closets. We also have a very classy broken mirror. We're learning to use more mounting tape and I've still had decent luck.

Our lovely living room. The furniture is more comfortable than I originally expected. I execute roughly 80% of my at-home activities from that couch.

Our lovely living room. The furniture is more comfortable than I originally expected. I execute roughly 80% of my at-home activities from that couch.

I couldn't get the kitchen in one picture...so I made a really bad composite. You get the idea. The microwave is hiding but you can see our temperamental dishwasher. I'm very appreciative when it works but it's not anchored very well in its little cubby-hole and I fear one of these days I'm going to offset the balance by pulling out the top shelf too fast and it'll fall flat on it's sad little face.

I couldn't get the kitchen in one picture...so I made a really bad composite. You get the idea. The microwave is hiding but you can see our temperamental dishwasher. I'm very appreciative when it works but it's not anchored very well in its little cubby-hole and I fear one of these days I'm going to offset the balance by pulling out the top shelf too fast and it'll fall flat on it's sad little face.

These are our desks. Mine is on the left. It doesn't get a lot of use because my $5 desk lamp from IKEA won't work with American light bulbs. Thanks a million, IKEA. Embher's desk is on the right, obviously. She brought a printer!

These are our desks. Mine is on the left. It doesn't get a lot of use because my $5 desk lamp from IKEA won't work with American light bulbs. Thanks a million, IKEA. Embher's desk is on the right, obviously. She brought a printer!

This is a close-up of my classy desk. Sometimes I think all those picture frames make it look like a shrine...

This is a close-up of my classy desk. Occasionally I worry all those picture frames make it look like a shrine...

Our view. Sometimes I think I'm the luckiest girl in Chicago. You can see in the picture on the right the construction site where my jackhammer friends work. Also, that is State Street. State Street is a good time.

Our view. Sometimes I think I'm the luckiest girl in Chicago. You can see in the picture on the right the construction site where my jackhammer friends work. Also, that is State Street. State Street is a good time.

This is where we sleep. There’s a collapsable wall that we sometimes close. The bottom bunk is mine. Ever since my down pillow top mattress cover came in the mail I have been blessed with wonderful sleep.

This is where we sleep. There’s a collapsable wall that we sometimes close. The bottom bunk is mine. Ever since my down pillow top mattress cover came in the mail I have been blessed with wonderful sleep.

This is like a hallway of closets that leads to the bathroom. Usually the doors are open. Mine's on the right. We have a very charming bathroom nicely decorated by my roommate.

This is like a hallway of closets that leads to the bathroom. Usually the doors are open. Mine's on the right. We have a very charming bathroom nicely decorated by my roommate.

That’s about the extent of it. I feel a little bad ending on a picture of the bathroom…oh well. Not pictured was the queen size air mattress I keep in the closet. It inflates very nicely and welcomes guests.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i cant even express how cool this is. i cant wait to be up there and see it in 2 weeks

Comment by Kyle Reynolds

Its pretty sweet i must say. I am jealous of the view…….its a lot better then the side of a building.

Comment by NATE




Leave a Reply

