frances in the city


Recently…
October 27, 2008, 5:27 pm
Filed under: Chicago!

Fun fact: Even though it’s gotten pretty chilly (seriously. mid-40s are feeling really cold with the wind off the lake), I’m still just as obsessed with iced coffee as I was when it was 97 degrees in Wichita. It doesn’t really make sense, but it tastes good.

I haven’t counted weeks recently, but I’ve been here for over two months. In a way, it feels like I’ve been here much longer than that. But I still can’t believe we’re halfway through the semester and I’m something like six weeks from Christmas break. It’s a very peculiar feeling. Midterms were mainly last week, but I lucked out with teachers who believed everyone’s other classes were so intense that it would be stressful to hold legitimate midterms. I’m trying to decide if I should be insulted by their low expectations. Oh well. I have two large projects to turn in this week and a monstrous art history “quiz” next week so I can stress on my own time.

In other news: awesome-possum friend and faithful blog reader/commenter Kyle Bear visited us this weekend! We had a very enjoyable weekend experiencing Chicago with Kyle. Because Nate (still) has classes on Fridays, Kyle and I spent the morning to mid-afternoon exploring walking all over downtown. I looked it up on Google Maps Pedometer function and we were approaching the five mile mark. Wow.

Agora installation at Roosevelt and Michigan. We looked at this in my art history class so I was able to share fun facts.

Agora installation at Roosevelt and Michigan. We looked at this in my art history class so I was able to share fun facts.

These are the necessary tourist pictures of the bean. Kyle was on the phone with Nate who was hoping tennis would be cancelled so he could come play.

These are the necessary tourist pictures of the bean. Kyle was on the phone with Nate who was hoping tennis would be cancelled so he could come play.

Nate and Kyle saw Wicked that night. Wicked will be leaving Chicago after a three year run this January so you should probably come see it now. But Mary Poppins is coming in March and we are really excited about that. We had a lovely Saturday in which we ate Chipotle (like old times) and went to the Lincoln Park Zoo. Let me tell you, the Lincoln Park Zoo is an excellent time and 100% free. Or free if you don’t want any food or random interactive activities. We spent a dollar and rode the carousel. 

Nate and Kyle "Dance with Wolves" in the wolf exibit. Ha.

To the left, bad camera phone angles on the carousel. Right: Nate and Kyle "Dance with Wolves" in the wolf exibit. Ha.

Sunday we went to church and then the Maxwell Street Market for lunch. I also purchased 4 pineapples for $5. Yes. Four whole pineapples. I should probably cut those sometime soon before they go bad. Then we took Kyle Bear back to the airport and said goodbye. So sad. Thank you, dear Kyle for an enjoyable weekend of dancing and creeping. See you soon!

So. On the agenda for today: Go to the Paper Source for a project (I’m so so excited. I love the Paper Source. And I actually have a reason this time!), work my butt off on another project involving sound editing (scary) and cut some pineapple.

I’m looking forward to…

  • Finishing up projects
  • Dressing up as a burrito and eating as much Chipotle as possible on Halloween
  • Relaxing this weekend
  • Upcoming visitors
  • Seeing my BROTHA
  • Wisconsin twice in one month (I really can’t wait)
  • Thanksgiving and seeing my family and meeting my dog
  • Everyone home for Christmas break!
Whew. Time to get crackin. Have a wonderful day and weeeek!
4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

that is a lot of walking. i am not even mad, that is amazing. i had so much fun in chicago with you guys and already miss it. it was so much fun creepin with you too and can’t wait for you to come home!

kyle

Comment by Kyle Reynolds

Yeah it was pretty much awesome! I hope you guys didnt ruin all of those pictures while you were creepin!

Comment by Nate

Love hearing what you life is like in the big city.

Comment by Grandma

I love the pictures and stories! And, Frances, if at all possible, can we go to Paper Source together when I visit?

Comment by Jenni




Leave a Reply

