frances in the city


things like boots
February 2, 2009, 8:34 pm
Filed under: Family, ponderings

Christmas came in February…and I couldn’t be more delighted. I finally spent my Target gift card and designated Christmas money…on BOOTS! Boots really aren’t that big in Kansas, but I’m quickly learning that boots are essential in Chicago. I’ve added to my collection and I’m telling you, there is no feeling like getting shoes in the mail.

My Florida grandparents funded the purchase of these delightful rainboots. I also splurged on fleece liners that make these gems perfect for trekking through the snow (also for wading through the inch of water that covered our bathroom floor yesterday morning…a pipe burst. But maintenance fixed it quickly, so no worries). 

 

Thank you Grandma!!

Thank you Grandma!!

This next pair was really exciting because I “won” them on ebay. Originally I intended to bring my Christmas money from my Wichita Grandparents back to Chicago to go shopping at one of the wonderful vintage stores, but curiosity got the best of me, and I’d been scouting cowboy boots on ebay for the past few weeks. With some persistence, I was able to snatch these for $12.99 (plus shipping and handling)! Needless to say, I’m very delighted.

Aren't they beautiful?

Aren't they beautiful?

 

my boot collection!

my boot collection!

Fun stuff!

 

 

 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

 

So this is an entirely different tangent and completely unrelated, but this is something I’ve been thinking about quite a bit. I was watching a special about celebrity plastic surgery this weekend (ah the glory of cable television and our wonderfully functioning remote) (please also note that I was multi-tasking) and they were discussing Ashlee Simpson’s nose-job. The conversation centered around the desire to feel beautiful and comfortable in one’s skin and the lengths these celebrities were willing to arrive at that security. While the majority of the assessments were flippant and shallow, one commentator mentioned how facial features are family traits, and in her pursuit of idealized beauty, Ashlee Simpson sacrificed something that characterized her as a member of her family. Although I’m thankful to possess a nose I’m very comfortable with, I’d like to think that I would be deterred from any enhancement surgery based on my commitment to my family.

While I was home for break, my dad and I talked about the way my generation addresses each other. We focus on first names and place little importance on surnames. I can think of so many people I’ve met and known reasonably well without asking their last names. It doesn’t seem that important when we’re getting to know each other, but it troubles me that I can know people for weeks without being able to pronounce their last names. When I think of all the people my own last name represents, it seems like you can’t really know me if you can’t pronounce my last name. 

I guess what I’m trying to say is that while I’m enjoying meeting new people and establishing new relationships, I hate that the people I meet will never know my family the way those I grew up with do. We’re building friendships from this point in our lives, and all they know of the people who have made me who I am today is my last name, and they don’t even know it that well. Everyone’s trying to establish themselves and further who they are individually, they’re pushing their history behind them. One of the things I love about my family is the pride that’s been established. Not like Mafia-pride or obnoxious in-your-face pride, but simple pride in our love for each other. That may sound silly in everyday conversation, but I wish I could figure out a way to encourage my generation to be proud of not only who we are today but also those who are behind us. I may be in this city all alone, but I’m representing my entire family, everyone I love, and I want to make them proud. My family has established that in me. Now if only we can figure this out for the rest of these crazy kids.

All that said, thank you. I’m terribly blessed.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Frances, Certainly hope you don’t have to wear the big black boot too often! They are definitely the ugly ones of your boot collection!! Stay warm. Love you.
Grandma in Florida

Comment by Mom's Mom




Leave a Reply

