frances in the city


OK…
April 14, 2009, 9:05 pm
Filed under: kitchen mischief

I think if we can all overlook the fact that this is the second post in a single day we’ll be alright. I’m just really excited and I know if I don’t tell you about this now it’ll never happen.

I cooked Indian food. Yes. I did. I feel really accomplished, but in reality it was super simple. Megan and I went to Trader Joe’s after class today. I absolutely love Trader Joe’s. It’s up there with IKEA and Anthropologie on the list of favorite big city stores. They have all kinds of delicious food that seems so accessible. I picked up a premade Pav Bhaji and some naan. Pav Bhaji is a sauce with potatoes, vegetables, tomatoes and “aromatic” spices. Indian food usually intimidates me because it can be really spicy, but the price was low enough that if I didn’t like it I wouldn’t regret my decision. I was so psyched to eat naan again, which is an Indian flatbread a little like pita. It’s a little chewy on the outside and nearly doughy on the inside. They cook it on a grill and it is soo good. I was also excited that I finally cooked rice successfully. Like the travel gods, the rice gods hate me. I’ve tried making rice maybe 6 times this year and I have never succeeded. I am not even lying. I even screwed it up when I used Alison’s rice cooker. I don’t know how that’s even possible. BUT this time the rice worked the way it was supposed to. It’s about freaking time. The sauce ended up being a bit spicy, but something about icy Diet Coke makes it all better.

100_02811

So. If you live anywhere near a Trader Joe’s, make the trek. You will feel like an amazing ethnic cook. Which is fabulous for the self esteem. Or just buy the naan and some red pepper hummus and enjoy yourself.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Just to give everyone a taste of Trader Joe’s check out this video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OdB7GDZY3Pk

Comment by Uncle Kenneth




Leave a Reply

