frances in the city


Hold fast to that which is good. 1 thess 5 21
April 21, 2009, 2:53 pm
Filed under: Family

To my grandpa:

You are the reason I love quiet people. Truly. You are the reason I pursue the people who sit quietly in corners. You quiet folks don’t always say the most, but when you do, it’s well worth the wait.

There’s so much about you that I don’t want to let go of. Your squeeks. At me, at my sisters, at the cat. Your cheesy jokes that I laugh at only because they’re so ridiculous (After your most recent haircut, “I feel lightheaded!”). Your soft pecks on my cheek every time I visit. Your loud and often tacky neckties. Your strong political and moral convictions. Your red hunting jacket, your shuffling slippers, your crossword puzzles, your “Darn dog!!”s, your meowing at the cat. Your “Mrs. MacLeod!!”s. Your “resting your eyelids”. Your $10 emerald pill. The rest of your pills, including that giant chalky one. Your homemade bread, even your fruitcake. Your Maudie stories. Your Rush rants. Your loud MacLeod. Your iced coffee at Culvers. The way you loved my grandma. The way you laughed at my awful jokes. The way you asked my grandma every night at five o clock what she would be drinking. The way I could stand next to you in the church lobby and listen to people loving on you. Do you know how proud I am to be your granddaughter?

I know it’s not goodbye. I know it’s see you later. I don’t want to give you up, but that’s so very selfish. I hope you love the place that has been prepared for you. I’ll hold fast, for now.

gpa1

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Honey, We miss him so very much. You’ve done an amazing job of describing a wonderful grandfather. Love you,

Comment by Dad

What a beautiful tribute to your grandpa. He loved and enjoyed your visits so much. He was a fantastic man. I feel so blessed that God gave me 56 years with him and everyday was an adventure. God is so good!

Comment by Grandma

I knew this blog post would be coming 🙂 How wonderful to have the hope we have that we will both be reunited with our grandfathers (both those we were given at birth, as well as though who I was lucky enough to “acquire” through marriage). “Hold fast” to all of those wonderful memories and to this wonderful hope. Love you!

Comment by melkreuser

Frances,

It is so great to have those of you who can put into beautiful words what we are all feeling. He gave us all so many precious memories. I know that there are so many that will hold fast because of him!

Comment by Aunt Lynn




Leave a Reply

