frances in the city


refreshment
May 18, 2009, 1:17 pm
Filed under: Chicago!

Last semester I departed Chicago abruptly following my last final. I don’t think that it was a bad decision, but I remember really wishing I was in the city for just a few more days. Especially since it was Christmas time. Who knows what kinds of delightful gifts you sweeties would have received if I had stuck around an extra weekend. That being said, I’m very thankful for this weekend in Chicago. It’s been so refreshing to just savor the city before I leave for the summer.

We’ve spent much of the weekend cleaning and reorganizing. We had to combine and consolidate four kitchens, four sets of cleaning products, etc. We had about a zillion plates (give or take). Saturday afternoon my new roommate Lauren and I went to Wicker Park to do a bit of shopping. I was along for the ride but Lauren picked up some very charming sundresses at a vintage store. Sunshine and window-shopping never did me wrong. Afterwards we went to the Keane concert. Lauren had an extra ticket and didn’t want to go alone, and I was very thankful to be the only one available. I’ve been a moderate Keane fan for a few years. Never die-hard, but I like them. I don’t think I would have made a point of seeing them live, but it was such a wonderful opportunity. They played a really great show and the lead singer sweated through his shirt and jacket, which I’ve never seen done. It was kind of disgusting and really pretty stupid of him, because I think he would have sweated considerably less without the jacket, but you know, that’s his business. I took pictures…sadly my camera cord is packed away with my soul in a tucker-tote in a storage closet. We’ll find them later.

Lauren and my other roommate David both have birthdays in May so we had a birthday/housewarming party last night. I spent a lot of Sunday cleaning and cooking, but everyone LOVED Mom’s spicy thai peanut apple dip (really) and thought the shortbread was tasty. Of course a pound of butter and a cup of powdered sugar with flour is tasty.

So now I’m just kind of lounging around. How hard is my life?

Oh. Also. Quick update on Grandma Jack’s lunch with Mikey Waltrip: I’ve heard rumors that it was a great success, better than they had hoped. My mom took pictures so hopefully we can get those bad boys posted later next week. From all that I’ve heard, they’ve had a wonderful time in North Carolina and have eaten some seriously delicious food. They also made a Trader Joe’s run (Trader Joe’s really should pay me or something. I do so much plugging). They inspired me to buy some spicy smoky peach salsa when I was out shopping yesterday. Tasty stuff.

Alright. I shall close with my favorite Keane song, the one that got me hooked.

_______________EDIT__PHOTO ALERT___________________________________

grandma

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

STILL SPEECHLESS!!! Love you Frances!
Grandma Jack

Comment by Mom's Mom

who is that beautiful young lady in the picture?

Comment by gordon macleod




Leave a Reply

