frances in the city


being useful.
July 29, 2009, 12:32 pm
Filed under: kitchen mischief, rando

It’s Wednesday. I’m sure the majority of you are ticked at my inconsistencies. I would be. And I bet you’re looking forward to the return of the school year so you can get some regularity back in your Frances-consumption. I mean, if I could be so presumptuous.

The past few weeks have been equal parts busy and non-busy. I’ve been filling my days with work and quality time with friends and my family. Last night my friend Hannah and I made a DELICIOUS meal for ourselves and my parents. I cooked a ton of odd stuff this past year and told my mom I’d cook all of it for her this summer. Well, the summer’s nearly over, and I just started making good on my promises…Anyway, we had Creamy Saffron Shrimp with gnocchi and carmelized onions, only without the saffron…it tasted fine without it. We had a good time making our own gnocchi using this recipe, but you can buy premade packages of the little dumplings at most grocery stores. Hannah even took a picture with my camera phone, which will show you just how much my phone can make anything look like velveeta shells and cheese.

DELICIOUS

DELICIOUS

While we’re uploading pictures from my phone, I thought I’d show you the tasty Caprese salad we had with dinner on Saturday.

caprese

fresh mozerella is one of my favorite food groups.

Also, here’s a picture of Nate’s mom and the precious 6-week old border collie she is foster mommy-ing. His name is Finn and he likes to play and chew and has breath that smells like coffee…but not in a good way.

finn

So. That’s the past few days.

In the future few days, I will be packing and getting all of my crap ready to leave this Saturday morning for a week at Camp Runamuc. After those joyous 7 days and the third cousin wedding in ten months (!), I shall resume permanent residence in Chicago, Illinois. School won’t start till September 8, but I wanted to get a head start on the job hunt and take advantage of summertime Chicago. Brace yourself. Regularity is coming.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have been waiting anxiously for your next report. The wait is always worth it. It will be so great to see you and have you in Chicago again. Are you cooking for Camp Runamuc? Did your mother eat shrimp?

Comment by Grandma

Oh my goodness. We made gnocchi a couple of weeks ago with some left over mashed taters. It was the first time I had it and it was delicous. When I tell people about it they look at me like I am crazy!

Comment by Jessica Lentell




Leave a Reply

