frances in the city


back in the city (pictures a-plenty)
August 10, 2009, 11:59 am
Filed under: Chicago!

Well here we are. After a delightful two months in glorious Wichita, I am back in Chicago and more or less moved into my new apartment. I say more or less because my bed has yet to arrive from Sam’s Club. It’s hard to be moved in when there is no bed to call your own. Today I will be patiently waiting for the management office to call and inform me that they have signed for my 77lb package, won’t you please come retrieve it.

My family and I (sans Caroline) spent the past week at Camp Runamuc. For those who don’t live and breathe MacLeod, a quick vocab lesson:
Runamuc is a location. Or a state of mind, if you ask my dad. Runamuc is what we call the farm where all the MacLeod siblings grew up. It’s never been formally named, but those in the know refer to the 55 acre (ish? correct me, please) compound in scenic Kettle Moraine as such.
Camp Runamuc is an intentional gathering of the majority of my father’s immediate family. With seven children in five states, it’s nearly impossible to round everyone up, but we try our best and usually have t shirts made.

I’m terrible with accurate statistics, but this past week we had something like 25 people staying on the premises in tents, campers, and the house. Highlights of the week included reroofing the garage and chicken coop, yard work, a birthday party for everyone with a tartan pinata, and my cousin Matt’s wedding. You can see a comprehensive photo essay here (prepare to invest ten minutes) which may explain things better than I can.

The following are camera-phone photos from our quick trip to Chicago on Thursday and Friday. Mom, Anne and I drove through intense traffic (thanks to a mammoth music festival in Grant Park) to move all my stuff into my apartment and get Anne on a Kansas City-bound Megabus in time for her senior trip with church. For those of you who didn’t know, my roommates moved into our apartment in May, so lots of my stuff was already there. We made an IKEA run (that turned into a six hour experience and a desk from Target), ate deep-dish pizza, saw CAROLINE at O’Hare on her way home from Israel, went grocery shopping, and ate cupcakes. I’d call it a success.

Anne asleep on the ride in.

Anne asleep on the ride in.

this is an old picture I had on my phone from a couple years ago when we made the SAME trip into Chicago from Wisconsin. I thought I'd include it because she is so precious.

this is an old picture I had on my phone from a couple years ago when we made the SAME trip into Chicago from Wisconsin. I thought I'd include it because she is so precious.

The desk from Target that Anne and Mom custom-assembled (Plus Great-Grandma Hebel's chair!)

The desk from Target that Anne and Mom custom-assembled (Plus Great-Grandma Hebel's chair!)

our kitchen.

our kitchen.

the living room. more apartment pictures will follow once I'm a little more settled.

the living room. more apartment pictures will follow once I'm a little more settled.

this is just a LOT of firewood on our way to Aldi. Just an old parking lot. Filled to the brim with firewood...?

this is just a LOT of firewood on our way to Aldi. Just an old parking lot. Filled to the brim with firewood...?

Caroline and Mom at the airport. Isn't she tan and lovely? Caroline too!

Caroline and Mom at the airport. Isn't she tan and lovely? Caroline too!

Caroline was so excited to see us and eat cheese and meat together.

Caroline was so excited to see us and eat cheese and meat together.

Caroline brought me a beautiful scarf and showed us how the orthodox jewish women wear theirs.

Caroline brought me a beautiful scarf and showed us how the orthodox jewish women wear theirs.

Mom's first time at Molly's. She LOVED it.

Mom's first time at Molly's. She LOVED it.

Clockwise from top left: Coconut Cream (YUM), Peanut Butter Nutella (doubleyum), the Lemon Meringue we got for Grandma (she loved it), Red Velvet and cream cheese, another red velvet, and Ron Bennington (which has peanut butter in the middle and is topped with chocolate ganache)

Clockwise from top left: Coconut Cream (YUM), Peanut Butter Nutella (doubleyum), the Lemon Meringue we got for Grandma (she loved it), Red Velvet and cream cheese, another red velvet, and Ron Bennington (which has peanut butter in the middle and is topped with chocolate ganache)

Such wonderful things with such wonderful people.

So. In the coming week I’ll be

  • Finding my bed
  • Finding a job
  • hanging out at Student Financial Services so they don’t give me too much student loan
  • updating my resume
  • getting settled
  • talking more to you folks!
3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Glad to have you close again. I will be praying over you and your list of things that need attention. Nice apartment and I loved the pictures of Caroline. So good to see her on this side of the world.

Comment by Grandma

so happy that i get to be a part of another year in chicago. I can’t wait to hear what happens in the coming days, months, and year! I miss you

Comment by Kyle Reynolds

Thanks for the pictures! Now I know that we need to get Anne a neck pillow for Christmas.

Poor kid is going to get whiplash.

Comment by Uncle Kenneth




Leave a Reply

