frances in the city


holly golightly :: tiffany’s / frances :: trader joe’s
September 2, 2009, 9:01 pm
Filed under: Chicago!

I made it through day numero uno of Columbia-Job. I did a lot of listening and learning today. I came home and my brain was absolutely fried. Roommate Megan suggested I take a walk, and so I did. Through downtown and over the river and all the way to Trader Joe’s. You know that part in Breakfast at Tiffany’s when Holly Golightly talks about how Tiffany’s has a therapeutic effect?
“The only thing that does any good is to jump in a cab and go to Tiffany’s. Calms me down right away. The quietness and the proud look of it; nothing very bad could happen to you there. If I could find a real-life place that’d make me feel like Tiffany’s, then – then I’d buy some furniture and give the cat a name!”
Holly Golightly is to Tiffany’s as Frances is to Trader Joe’s. It wasn’t particularly quiet, but nothing bad can happen there. It calmed me right down. I looked at all the colorful produce and sampled the samples, and toyed with the idea of spending a lot of money on not enough chicken. And I got some onions and frozen corn, which is nice and tidy since I’ve been wanting to make this salsa ever since the Great Pineapple Invasion of 2009. Yesterday I made Lime + Basil Sorbet to use up the remaining limes in my refrigerator. The basil flavor really isn’t that pronounced and it tastes mostly like you’re eating slightly thawed limeade concentrate in a can. It’s really very thrilling since you’re not normally allowed to eat limeade concentrate. Plus, frozen desserts always seem like some ridiculous accomplishment to me anyway.

Tomorrow is Convocation. Remember? It’s not required for non-freshmen, but I’m excited because it means free lunch and entertainment and pens and probably a t-shirt. We’re all about free things here at Frances in the City.
SPEAKING OF free things, I found a coupon for a free gyro online the other day and stood in line for an hour at Chicago Carry-Out to get my free lunch. Apparently September 1 is “Eat More Gyros” Day. They actually locked the door to the restaurant about ten minutes after I got there since they were running out of gyro supplies (I don’t think people were ordering anything else). I didn’t really have much else to do, so it made me feel like I had accomplished something significant. The gyro was sooo tasty. Absolutely worth standing in line.

Completely unrelated, but lately I canNOT stop listening to Greg Laswell. My dear cousin Nathan lent me his CD’s last year, so I’ve had them for a while, but in the past few weeks it’s been almost all that I play on my iTunes. It suits sunny Chicago afternoons so perfectly.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

