frances in the city


points
September 11, 2009, 12:17 am
Filed under: Chicago!, ed-you-kay-shun

You guys. I am so busy. I have not been this busy since I was a senior in high school. I’m nearly through the first week of the semester and I can feel that this is going to be a bit hectic. On Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, I work in Campus Environment from 9 to 5 being a good little office minion. Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Wednesday evenings I have class. That’s a full week, people! I wake up every day by 8:00! This is both a good thing and a bad thing. It’s good because I’m occupying myself and making money and hustling my butt, but it’s bad because I might go crazy and my communication via this blog might suffer.
I’m going to be honest right now and say that lots of things that came easily last year were easy because I had so much free time. I could write witty blog posts and make my own gnocchi and pop out of bed on the mornings I needed to and find the best deal on Xacto blades because my weekends spanned four days. Pouring hours into projects that excited me was no issue because I had an excess of hours. This year I know I’m going to have to really make an effort to stay on top of things. So if we could all pray for Frances’ time management skills, that would be excellent.

Anywayzzz I have made it through the first week of classes. Each semester is 15 weeks long, so I’ve got 14 classes left. Weird, huh? If I were to make a paper chain to count down to Christmas, it would really not be very impressive.

These are the high points:

  • I love my Thursdays so far. In the morning, I get to pretend that I work for Dr. House solving medical mysteries in my Epidemics: The History of Disease class. Today we used deductive reasoning to come up with theories for a real life medical case from a Vermont hospital! Granted, it was very simple, but it was exciting to accuse various propositions as the cause of a minor epidemic (Spoiler: improper handling of hospital waste contaminated the air duct!). I’m looking forward to this class because it will be fun to be reasonably versed in a fairly obscure topic.
  • On Thursday afternoons I have History of Communication Design. Oh my goodness, am I excited. It’s like Art History for graphic design. Today we talked about various printing methods and the cultural relevance of various typefaces. These are the things I really geek out about, and I’m so excited to get a good grip on where graphic design is coming from. Eee.

Middle-ish eh points:

  • My applied drawing teacher took us to Grant Park last night since our classroom was too hot. I think this is going to be a nice and relevant class that will teach me more about perspective and commercial drawing.
  • Also, my teacher is a bit of an animation aficionado and dropped some nice little Disney-Pixar facts. It’s always good to know trivia.
  • I’m taking an intro to public relations class that is not my thing, but I’m going to learn a lot.
  • I got my UPass so I can go wherever I please in Chicago for free. This is a relief.

Some more random bullet points:

  • Nate and I had the best time in Wisconsin last weekend. We saw “Julie & Julia” with Grandma, which was a fun movie. We also worked hard on “Labor” Day (get it?) and were rewarded with copious cheese and love.
  • Did anyone else watch Glee on Fox on Wednesday? I’m bummed my drawing class overlaps the time slot, but I’m kind of obsessed with the show. It’s hard to describe, but it’s about a high school show choir and the characters are over the top and ridiculous. That show just makes me smile. Like when it’s over, I’m smiling. Woohoo feel-good television.
  • The pineapple is gone. Two of them sat on our kitchen counter and molded. Ew. We’re all a little sick of pineapple.
  • Today I spent $134 on textbooks, which is a lot of money, but I got some dang good deals on Amazon and half.com. I really can’t complain, but I’m still a little sad to part with my $134.

I apologize for the lack of photos and/or interesting content, but I hope the bullets could be of help and keep things moving. Maybe next time? We shall see.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

All I have to say is: A class on the cultural relevance of various typefaces?! Does it GET any better than that?!?!?! My guess is: No. thanks for all the sweet notes. I’m thinking about you all the time and sincerely believe that even if your paper chain is only 15 links long, Jesus will still smile upon it…and you.

Comment by Jenni

one of my hidden passions has become Glee. It is hard here because I have not found anyone who shares that passion and would watch it with me, maybe because no one knows I like it…also, is it going to overlap with the office. PROBLEM! I love reading your blog and keeping up to date on your life. Miss you!

Comment by Kyle Reynolds

This is your Aunt Lynette weighing in on a few things, if I may. First of all, I still enjoyed reading your blog even without pictures. Secondly, you must take life one day at time so that it is manageable. All of God’s promises are for you TODAY and that is where you are. There are only 24 hours in a day and 8 of them should be spent sleeping – seriously. No SERIOUSLY! You must get enough sleep to take good care of yourself. It helps memory by 20%, keeps you from gaining weight from stress, gives our skin that fresh look, and will help you fight off sickness. The rest of day just do your best and that is enough. Keep up the good work and remember God’s mercies are new every morning!! 🙂

Comment by Uncle Kenneth

Busy is the way to be, you’ll be fine. And you know that. GLEE is a fun show, my History of Film Genres teacher is the star’s personal acting coach!! He’s seen all the scripts for the first season (Kristin Chenoweth guest stars in a few weeks and apparently the solo they do is amazing). Talk soon? I miss ya girl. – Jeff

Comment by jdizz15




Leave a Reply

