frances in the city


Oh Friday.
September 25, 2009, 3:45 pm
Filed under: Chicago!, rando

Friday and I are best friends. We wish we could spend more time together, but as it works out, we only see each other once a week. Such a shame. Friday, I love you. Thank you for being there for me when I need you and providing hope and happiness.

I’m at work…one more hour and Friday and I can truly enjoy each other. This afternoon we had what we believed was a fire drill. We later found out that it was the real deal, the result of a paint job gone awry. This has been my second building evacuation in two days, and I’m beyond irritated by the fire alarms Columbia has on campus. I’m used to polite fire alarms, the kind that ticks you off but gets you out of the building without beating you over the head. The ones here I believe to be manufactured by the same company that outfits luxury cruise liners with noise weaponry to ward off Somalian pirates in the Indian Ocean. My little ears were bleeding (not really) and it upset my stomach (really).

Speaking of my stomach, it was full of some delicious sesame noodles courtesy of the Pioneer Woman (my mom and I’s favorite blog for recipes with beautiful food photos). She just posted the recipe this morning and I read it and thought “I have all of those ingredients. I will make that for lunch!” And so I did. I also topped it with a fried egg and the bell pepper in my fridge that was about to become fertilizer. So. Good. And then I stopped by 7Eleven and paid $1.12 for a 12 oz can of Diet Coke. 7Eleven’s pricing is out of control, and so is the sales tax. But it was convenient and a nice pick-me-up and that meets my needs.

Remember last time when I said I wanted to have nice comfortable shoes? This afternoon I’ve been talking to my dad about options (you can tell my afternoon has been jam packed with activity). I’m looking for nice little slip-ons with decent arch support that are comfortable for fall walking but still look nice. I was thinking something along the lines of this:

shoes

Dad kept popping back on my ichat with the likes of this:columbia

On reviewer said the shoes on the left would be better if they weren’t so “tractor-like”. I’m all for practical comfort, but I have to draw the line at some point (Thanks for your help Dad!). I’m willing to invest in something a little more expensive as long as I know it’s comfortable. I paid $50 for the flip-flops I’m wearing today, which seemed absurd at the time, but I wear them ALL the time. Unfortunately my toes won’t be able to stand the chill much longer, so it’s time to find something that works.

What are your favorite walking shoes? Any suggestions? Comment away, wonderful people. And enjoy your time with my best friend Friday.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I was thinking more along these lines: http://www.hotboots.com/bootinfo/hiking.html

Comment by Dad

Your Dad’s choice will keep your feet warm, but no fashion. Caroline’s choice is very confusing and won’t keep your feet warm. They really haven’t been much help, have they?

Comment by Grandma

I love that you love Pioneer Woman. My roommate is obsessed. She defines their relationship as a “friend crush” and checks her blog like 10 times a day. But no complaints here! Because of her obsession, I have enjoyed many delicious treats!
Sorry, I have nothing to offer in regards to good shoes…but the best of luck!

Comment by Missy

Slippers!

Comment by Nate

Keen shoes are fantastic!! After having sore feet for months cause I couldn’t find the right shoes…they are winners! OR if you can go to a Walking Store, they have inserts that help out with arch support and ball of foot pain and then you can put them in any shoes you want!

Comment by Jenn




Leave a Reply

