frances in the city


fruits of having 3 roommates:
October 24, 2009, 11:56 am
Filed under: Chicago!

I’m getting much better at confrontation.

By nature, MacLeod’s are not overly confrontational people. We’re not big on conflict, and we tend to be pretty laid back. I grew up in a house where my parents dealt with things quietly/without involving everyone else, and once my siblings moved into maturity and beyond guerrilla warfare to solve our disagreements, we get along pretty well.

So that’s where I am from. My three roommates come from varying familial backgrounds with different methods of solving problems. We have disagreements, strong personalities, and abundant opinions. Conflict, large or small, is inevitable. Because we are interested in maintaining our friendships, we’ve had to learn to address these issues healthily. We’re still far from perfect, but I’m surprised at how much I’ve grown as a “cohabitant” in the past 3 (already!?) months. It’s been such a process, but I’m getting more comfortable with standing up for my opinion, giving and receiving considerate correction, and determining what’s worth it and what’s not. I tend to ere on the “It’s not worth starting an argument over this” side of things, and although I still prefer to avoid addressing things that are smaller personal preferences, I’m learning that there is a way to express your opinion without starting an all-out war.

(sidenote: Fear not, my roommates and I are happy people, we like each other, generally enjoy each others’ company, and there are no problems we can’t handle/haven’t already handled)

College is such an education! Life is such an education. I’m learning so much!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What a mature young lady you are. So proud that you are my granddaughter.

Comment by grandma

I myself am still a fan of guerilla warfare

Comment by Gordon




Leave a Reply

