frances in the city


disclaimer: I cried writing this. so there.
April 4, 2010, 9:33 am
Filed under: Family

Wanna hear a secret? I’m a bit of a crier. My eyes will fill up when something touches my heart, and sometimes they overflow. This happens primarily at church or during intimate spiritual discussions, but it can also show up when someone is talking about their family, or when there are warm fuzzy commercials on TV, or when the final scene of The Notebook is on. It can be kind of an embarrassing thing when I don’t know the people around me very well, but it’s just one of those things that makes me Frances, and that’s alright.

For the past year, there has been a very specific trigger, and I wanted to share that here today.

Last spring as my Grandpa Mac’s health was fading, I spent several weekends up in Wisconsin. It was such a blessing to be close enough to make frequent escapes to Runamuc, and this proximity allowed for a huge quantity of memories to be made in a short amount of time. One Sunday at church, the choir sang “In Christ Alone,” a song I’d heard many times before but never truly considered. On the ride home and that afternoon, Grandpa expressed his love for the song and it’s message. “It tells the whole story of the Gospel!” he said excitedly, ” It’s everything I could say about Christ in a single song.” My uncle helped him download a copy of the song with plans to burn it on a CD and send it to those who “need to hear this song.” Grandpa was what us young hooligans call “old school,” and preferred hymns over contemporary worship songs, but the message of this song resonated deeply with him.

The choir sang “In Christ Alone” at his memorial service, and from that point forward, the song is a constant reminder to me of my grandfather’s legacy and the urgency of the Gospel. In Christ alone, our hope is found, and there is SUCH hope. No guilt in life, no fear in death. I cry each time we sing this song at church, partially because I miss my grandpa, but also because the generosity of the Gospel is overwhelming. I’m so thankful for the relationship we had, but I am more thankful for Grandpa Mac’s relationship with his savior Jesus Christ. How fortunate is Donald Rhodes MacLeod, worshiping our Creator with the saints on this Resurrection Sunday??

Happy Easter, friends and family. Here in the death of Christ, I live.

In Christ alone my hope is found
He is my light, my strength, my song
This Cornerstone, this solid ground
Firm through the fiercest drought and storm
What heights of love, what depths of peace
When fears are stilled, when strivings cease
My Comforter, my All in All
Here in the love of Christ I stand

In Christ alone, who took on flesh
Fullness of God in helpless babe
This gift of love and righteousness
Scorned by the ones He came to save
‘Til on that cross as Jesus died
The wrath of God was satisfied
For every sin on Him was laid
Here in the death of Christ I live

There in the ground His body lay
Light of the world by darkness slain
Then bursting forth in glorious Day
Up from the grave He rose again
And as He stands in victory
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me
For I am His and He is mine
Bought with the precious blood of Christ

No guilt in life, no fear in death
This is the power of Christ in me
From life’s first cry to final breath
Jesus commands my destiny
No power of hell, no scheme of man
Can ever pluck me from His hand
‘til He returns or calls me home
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks, Frances. That song is very special to me, as well, and now is even more special because I know what it means to you. Thank you for sharing, and thank you for printing the words. I’m grateful for you and what Christ reveals to me through your life.

Comment by Jenni

I absolutely love it as well, and I cry often when we sing it. Beautiful.

Comment by Kacie

We had that song as special music on Sunday. It is a powerful song. Thanks for posting this one, sweetheart.

Comment by Nate

I cried when I read it.

So there.

Comment by Uncle Kenneth

That was beautiful. I used a half a box of Kleenex, is that OK? The choir is singing this on April 18. That means the other half box. I love you so much.

Comment by Grandma




Leave a Reply

