frances in the city


How is it nearly May?
April 19, 2010, 3:42 pm
Filed under: Chicago!

Being crazy-busy is a weird thing. On one hand, it turns productivity waaay up. I’m capable of accomplishing lots of things simply because I strategically use all my time. On the other hand, I feel like I end up neglecting things I wish I didn’t…like frequent grocery shopping, cooking nutritiously, communicating regularly with loved ones, blogging, etc. So even though there is a LOT of fruit from my labors as of late, I’d kind of like to live like a normal person. But I’m not in college to live like a normal person, so I guess I’ll have to suck it up.

I’ve got exactly four weeks left of school, and it looks like things won’t slow down one bit until they come to a screeching halt on May 13. I’m really looking forward to May 13.

Because bullet points are the easiest way to communicate large quantities of unrelated information (I’m too lazy for transitional sentences and whatnot), I think we’ll go with the exciting points of the last month (or more!)

  • Nate had two tournaments in town this weekend, and they won both! The UIC Men’s Tennis team has finished their regular season in second place in their conference. They’ll play in Indianapolis this weekend and kick a little booty. Nate’s mom and her wonderful friend Carol were in town to watch them play, so we got to eat a LOT of delicious food this weekend. We had an Indian feast on Saturday and Tuscany in Little Italy last night. I’m still full, and I’m pretty sure I wreak of garlic.
  • Lately I’ve been working like crazy to get my typography book ready to print. We’ve spent all semester designing a coffee table-sized book about typography (err, fonts), and even though it’s been the largest consumer of my time, I’ve loved nearly all of it! I can’t wait to show it off at the end of the semester…I will cry tears of joy and carry it with me everywhere.
  • On Friday night I went to Elmhurst, a western suburb of Chicago, with my roommate Megan. Her family has lived there their entire lives and it was so nice to be around regular people for the evening.
  • I’m a student member of AIGA, and the best use of my membership dues thus far has been the AIGA Mentorship Program, which matches Chicago design professionals with small groups of students. My group meets every Tuesday evening, and it’s incredible how generous my mentor is being with his time and resources. We’re only a few weeks in, but already it’s been a marvelous experience. Yay for networking and taking my career seriously!
  • On April 10, Nate and I went and saw John Mayer at the United Center. We saw him a few years ago in Kansas, and it was lovely to see him again. A band I’d never heard of called Michael Franti & Spearhead opened, and they gave a really fun performance. A couple got engaged on stage, a 9-year-old from the audience played the cowbell with the drummer, and there was a lot of dancing. LOTS of fun.
  • The weekend before that, Nate and I went to see Beauty and the Beast at the Cadillac Theater. April was our cultured month. The tickets were Nate’s Valentine’s gift to me, and it was WONDERFUL. We were surrounded by 6 year old girls dressed up in costumes and we were just as excited to see it as they were. It did not disappoint, and ‘Be Our Guest’ was a huge production, as should be expected from Disney on Broadway performances.
  • I just realized I haven’t written since before Spring Break. Awful. Spring Break can be summed up as lots of food, lots of family, and lots of homework. All very good things.

Phew. I can’t go back any further. I’m really skimming on information, but it’s been a good semester. I promise.

Thank you for understanding my frazzled brain-ness, and remember that I love you all.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t know anything about Michael Franti except his song “I Love You”, and it’s SUCH a fun song.

Comment by Kacie

Frances, tonight I’m enjoying reading blogs…my brother’s, nephew’s, neice-in-law’s, daughters’….and YOURS!

It was fun to catch up on my sweet friend Jan’s “Little girl”

I especially enjoyed the “In Christ Alone” story and learning about your school projects & mentor program. Thanks for a FUN MacLeod family Christmas letter too!

Shari

Comment by Shari Morford




Leave a Reply

