frances in the city


Hey Mom. I need a pie server.
June 2, 2010, 9:42 pm
Filed under: kitchen mischief

Pardon the low image quality, pictures are pictures and I thought I’d show you the end result of a biscuit battle.

I’d been wanting to try this Tomato & Corn Biscuit Pie from Everybody Likes Sandwiches for what feels like ages. And I finally did yesterday! It would have been much simpler if I had used a different biscuit recipe/had biscuit experience (the one she suggests is a drop recipe and was gooey all over my kitchen), but I will definitely revisit this one. Roommate David and I discussed adding potatoes and carmelizing vidalia onions…all good ideas, I’m certain.

it was so pretty!!

excuse the blur and use your imagination.

The lemon zest is very zesty, so that could potentially be toned down. All in all it was fresh and summery and just the best first-meal-o-summer I could have asked for.

I also made a key lime pie yesterday…it was unofficially pie day. We bought a bag of the cutest little key limes a looonngg time ago and managed to squeeze out enough juice for a pie. It was a stretch though, people. Some of them were like little rocks. I didn’t take a picture, but the end result was beautiful and tasty, even if it lacked whipped cream. This recipe was super simple (literally four ingredients) after I cleaned the graham cracker catastrophe off my kitchen rug. Thanks for nothing Magic Bullet. Anywayz, a good time was had by all who partook. And I got to wear my pretty apron for four straight hours.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You’re the best and I love you. You can come to my house any time and cook.

Comment by Grandma

NEW POST PLEASE.

Comment by Katherine




Leave a Reply

