frances in the city


grace + joy
July 29, 2010, 7:20 pm
Filed under: Chicago!, ponderings

Chalk it up to caffeine jitters (I located the perfect iced coffee near work!) or the vitamin D I soaked up over lunch, but I’m in an excellent mood. The past few days have been busy with work and life, and I can’t shake this feeling of being incredibly blessed and loved. I don’t want to give the impression that my world today is perfection (two roommates and their families are experiencing substantial uncertainties that greatly need prayer), but joy and God’s grace have been at the front of my mind and I’m so thankful for this.

“Though the mountains may be shaken
and the hills removed,
yet my unfailing love for you
will not be shaken,
nor my covenant of peace be removed,”
says the Lord, who has compassion on you.
Isaiah 54:10

I’ll fill you in with recent real life experiences a bit later, but I wanted to quickly inform you of two themes of the past few weeks:

  • I love my internship. I love that I’m learning new things, I love that the agency I’m at is small enough that I’m getting to know everyone, I love that most days I feel helpful, I love that working off of Michigan Avenue allows for lunchtime summer tourist-watching, I love that there are Mounds bars in the kitchen and twice Lou Malnati’s deep-dish, I love that the days go by quickly, I love that I enjoy coming to work, I love that “intern” status means I can ask any question and it won’t be stupid, I love seeing the work that I touch in the office out in the real world (that one’s particularly exciting), I love that these people are friendly. I love it.
    I’m also confident that this was the perfect job for me and this summer, that the employment turmoil of early June led me to a place I couldn’t have imagined myself. God’s been working that way a lot lately, and I like it.
  • Summer in Chicago is all that I dreamed it could be. And more. CHEEEEEEZE, right? But it’s true. I feel spoiled by the weather, the employment, the free events, the beach, the food, the friends. I just want to stand still and soak it all in.
    Come visit, yes? I want to share it with you.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

