frances in the city


new(ish) phone photo dump.
August 20, 2010, 10:09 pm
Filed under: Chicago!, kitchen mischief

Someone explain to me how we are in the second third of August. Excuse me, but didn’t summer just start? Craziness. I have two more weeks til school starts, and I’m thankful for that. One week left at my internship, one week left with Alex, and then school life resumes. I’m excited to get back in the classroom and LEARRRN. Summer has been the right balance of structure and leisure, and I think that’s what has made it so easy to savor. I say it again: it is such a blessing to be young in this city.

Recently:

I read so many food blogs (glutton) that it occurs to me while I cook to take artsy progress shots. please excuse me.

end result: Fresh Corn & Black Bean Salad. I purchased fresh sweet corn from a farmer's market (overpriced but worth it) and it was so tasty. I ate on it for days.

see that ad? there in the middle with all the pictures? that was produced by our agency. I took this picture at the train stop I take to work every day the first time I saw it. Words can't quite describe the feeling of seeing work that you touched out in public. It's incredibly exciting.

Look! More ads at the biggest commuter train station in Chicago! I took the Metra home from visiting my parents & Anne at Runamuc and was welcomed by more ads! Again, I was stupid excited to see them. Seriously. I called back to Runamuc to talk to whoever would listen. Thanks for sharing in my excitement family!

poor suburban kiddos on their way home from Lollapalooza thought I was a nutjob for gleefully taking pictures of the advertising.

Alex and I love letters and blocks and building castles, be them from letter blocks or sand.

I'm quite certain that I could go on a global safari and crossing the Chicago River would still be my favorite view in the world.

David and I made Ina Garten's macaroni and cheese. Do it for yourself. You won't regret it.

This is Katherine. Between cheerleading and newspaper, we spent a LOT of time together in high school. She was in town on vacation and met me for lunch, sweet girl.

this is the muffaletta I ate for lunch with Katherine. HUGE. HUGE. I barely consumed half, the rest was for dinner.

Alex and his letters. Kid has more alphabet toys than I knew could be produced.

look Caroline! I made falafel! and taziki! and ate it all myself!

more Advocate ads, different station, same joy.

Not included in photos:

  • Back to back weekends at Runamuc with my parents, little sister, cousins, aunts, uncles, and Grandma. We got to meet my cousin’s twin girls (so tiny! so precious! so perfect!), shop for final college necessities for Anne, purchase cheese, and bask in the warmth of family.
  • Robin‘s last night in Lakeview before moving to Cincinnati for her exciting new job. Bittersweet, I tell you. We had Ian’s Pizza and ice cream.
  • New roommate Alexis’ first official meal at our apartment. I made Red Curry Coconut Noodles and it was exotic. There were also millions of leftovers, but who’s complaining?
  • My free-Friday adventure in Wicker Park with a friend from school I haven’t seen all summer.

Like I said, being busy and making time for adventures is the way to go.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

UPDATE

Comment by Katherine




Leave a Reply

