frances in the city


a few quick pictures
September 24, 2010, 11:46 pm
Filed under: Chicago!

Deary me, it’s been so long. I don’t even know what to say or where to start.

So why not begin with some phone pictures of things I ate? That’s totally characteristic.

My summer best friend Alex turned three at the beginning of September. LOOK AT THIS KID'S DESSERT SPREAD. Have I mentioned that his parents own a bakery? Greatest party ever.

Remember what I said about Alex loving letters as much as I do? His birthday cake was phenomenal. SO MUCH LETTERS. Six layers of chocolate cake.

on fire.

Chorizo and chickpeas. So cultured.

Summer corn and shrimp soup with avocado. SO good, primarily because of the shrimp. The recipe mentioned using rotisserie chicken instead. I could get behind that.

Since I can’t link to recipes inside captions, here’s the link for chorizo & chickpeas, and the corn soup. I heartily recommend both.

On the very short list of “things I took pictures of with my camera phone that are not food, or at least food I intend to eat” is this little gem.

Luxe's first night at the apartment.

Luxe moved into our apartment with her mom Alexis. Since mid-August, they’ve been keeping us company and making us feel warm and fuzzy. Luxe is currently sitting next to me on the couch. It’s nice to be welcomed home, even if she just uses me for my affection. And I’m ok with that.

We’ll talk again soon. I promise!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

