frances in the city


project weekend kick-off
September 25, 2010, 5:30 pm
Filed under: Chicago!

As you may have assumed from my absence, things are BUSY. But then, when are they not? I calculated the other day that between work, classes, and other commitments, I’m occupied 43 hours a week. That number seems a little small for how busy I feel, but it’s still a lot when I consider it doesn’t include homework or socialization. The fruit of all this scurrying about is three-fold: 1, I’m managing my time like an adult, 2, I’ve been incredibly productive, and 3, I feel like I earn my weekends and free time. Three Fridays ago, I treated myself to a pumpkin spice latte at 3:30 in the afternoon. It was sooo tasty. I told my mom about it, who mentioned she was reading a book and eating a bowl of coffee ice cream. My momma invented earning the weekend. This got me thinking…treats like this are so savory when they cap off  a busy week, so why not make a point of celebrating the end of a workweek? I’m trying it out, and it’s fun to have an excuse to seek out a treat. Last week I went to Beard Papa’s after Uncle Kenneth suggested I seek out lava cake. I ended up with a strawberries and cream cream puff and some SUPER tasty chocolate cookies (that can be likened to tiny lava cakes after an 8 second spin in the microwave). Yesterday I went and picked up a chocolate coconut cupcake at More.
Hurray for weekends!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

