frances in the city


sweeeeet saturday
November 5, 2011, 2:36 pm
Filed under: Chicago!

It’s 2 pm on a Saturday, and it’s already been quite eventful.

My friend Blue is a film student at Columbia, and this weekend she is shooting a short film she’s worked a very long time on. She asked a few of our lady friends to prepare lunch for the cast and crew each of the days of the shoot. This morning I got up and made a LOT of pasta and an alfredo sauce and baked two giant pans of pasta with broccoli. It was a fairly simple process, just a little tedious. A few of the crew members are vegetarian, and the costume designer can’t eat gluten, so those things were taken into consideration. I had the meal all ready to go, wrapped in foil and wiggled into a cart, except for the giant pan that was resting on a box lid balancing on top of the cart. I pushed it out to one of the busier streets to catch a cab, and when I turned the cart just slightly, the box top slid off and the aluminum roasting pan fell face down on the sidewalk. I didn’t know what to do and was so flustered. A sweet couple out for a walk stopped to apologize, but there was nothing any of us could do! Fortunately, probably only four or five (of the intended 30 servings) were sacrificed to the concrete, and I turned the pan right side up and wailed a little, and then got in a cab. There was nothing else to be done! It was pretty horrific, but I’m thankful there was enough of the gluten-free pasta and salad to feed everyone.
They’re filming on the roof of an apartment building in the middle of downtown, and the set/view was incredible! I see so many buildings from street level only and rarely have the opportunity to see some of the tops closer. The one in this picture is supposed to look like a champagne bottle. Classy, right?

After dropping off lunch, I stopped for a coffee from Intelligentsia, which is such a treat. They have all these fancy ways of brewing coffee, I usually don’t understand what’s going on. I’ve been making French press coffee in the little press Caroline got me for my birthday, and there are so many more flavors in each cup! I didn’t intend to become a coffee snob, and I’m probably not full blown, but I’m so thankful to be able to appreciate all of these little things!

The weather today is quintessential beautiful autumn in Chicago. So glorious. I walked all the way back to my apartment since it felt so nice. God has used Chicago to teach me so much about contentment. The present is such an enormous gift, and knowing that the seasons will change makes me embrace what is happening now. I won’t be able to walk a few miles without gloves in two months. It will be miserably cold. So for now I will walk every chance I get and enjoy all of the leaves changing colors and the clear sky.

I wish I had a photo of Halloween to share. I was a lobster and it was my favorite costume ever. Pictures from our dance party at church should be up before too long, hopefully I’ll remember to put one here later. I’m very excited to be acquiring an iPhone in a few weeks, for many reasons but specifically because I’ll have a decent camera to upload pictures with. Wouldn’t it be nice if I shared bits of my life more frequently?

Also, here is a photo of a dachshund wearing a shark costume last weekend. Best. Ever.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

your stories are awesome!

Comment by taylor n.




Leave a Reply

